Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources of Information 引文及列明出處: Helps on Managing Citations

What are citation management tools?

Managing research citations is an essential but very time consuming task. By using citation management tools you can save time and effort in the process. Citation management tools are programmes that can help you to:

       collect citations from online databases and library catalogues together in one place;
       organize, edit, and search through the citations you have saved;
       automatically create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies in the citation style you wanted;
       share your citations and collaborate with classmates on group projects.

Suggestions on citation management tools

EndNote Web

EndNote Basic comes with the Library's subscription to Web of Science. It is a free web-based service used to store references and create bibliographies, and it offers up to 2GB of storage.

Click here to see our Library Guides on EndNote Web.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a combination of a desktop application and a website which helps you manage, share and discover both content and contacts in research. Mendeley is free with up to 2GB of storage.  Extra storage is available for a fee.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open-source tool that helps you collect, organize, cite and share your research sources.  Use of Zotero is free with up to 300MB of storage. 

There are two versions of Zotero: Zotero for Firefox is a FireFox extension (built into your browser); Zotero Standalone is a program that works with Chrome or Safari (but not Internet Explorer).

  • Video tour - Watch an introductory video of Zotero.
  • Download Zotero - Select the version of Zotero you wish to install.
  • Register for an account - Allow you to sync your library, participate in groups, or post to the support forums.
  • Zotero support - Find help guides, FAQ and video tutorials on installing and using Zotero.

What are citation generators?

There are also citation generators which can help you to create citations and bibliographies. Unlike citation management tools, these generators usually only offer a few citation styles and features. You have to enter your information source in these generators to create the formatted citation, and they will not store your citation information. However, if you are writing a short assignment, they are very handy tools to help you generating citations quickly. 

Suggestions on citation generators

BibMe

BibMe ​is a free citation generator developed at Carnegie Mellon University that produces citations and bibliographies in APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian styles. 

Citation Machine

Citation Machine helps you to create a citation by entering information on your information source. It provides citations for APA, MLA, Chicago and many more styles. 

Citation feature in LibSearch

The citation feature in LibSearch can also generate a citation quickly for you :

1. To generate a citation for a title you have found in LibSearch, click the quotation mark next to the title. 

item record

 

 

2. Currently, the service provides four commonly used citation styles, namely APAChicago/Turabian, Harvard and MLA  .

     

 

3. Similarly, click "EndNote" or "RIS" if you wish to export the record details. You may need to register and log in to the citation management tool separately.

4. Attention! The citation generated by LibSearch is for reference only. You should check the accuracy of the citation format before using it.

Database/Ebook platforms providing "Cite" function

Many datebases or ebook platforms provide "cite" function. Below are a few examples:

ProQuest ebrary:  Click "Cite Book" to generate the citation

ProQuest ebrary citation feature

 

MyiLibrary: Click "Citation" under "Bibliographic Details".

MyiLibrary citation feature

 

EBSCOhost: Click "Cite" to find "Citation Format".

 

 

Emerald Journals: Click "Cite" to open their "Cite this Source" feature.

Emerald Insight citation feature

Which citation management tools is right for me?

There are many factors to consider. For example, if you are an undergraduate student, you will consider:

  • Is it free?
  • Is it easy to use?

If you are a graduate student, you might have different considerations, e.g.:

  • Can it work well with the databases I use frequently?
  • Is it able to organize and filter a large number of citations?
  • Is it able to produce a bibliography in the preferred style used in my discipline?

To have some clues, take a look at the guide below:

Always check!

Citation management tools are very helpful but they are not always correct. Remember to check your citations against the citation style's official manual to ensure the accuracy.

Guide on "Avoiding Plagiarism"

Contact Us 聯絡我們

phone number  2768 6777

email libwww@hkmu.edu.hk

Comments? 請給我們意見

How useful is this guide? 你認為這個指南有用嗎?
Very useful 非常有用: 70 votes (9.02%)
Useful 有用: 40 votes (5.15%)
Moderate 一般: 28 votes (3.61%)
Not useful 沒有用: 638 votes (82.22%)
Total Votes: 776