Library Guides: Citing Sources of Information 引文及列明出處: Chicago Manual of Style

Recommended Resources

Websites:

Chicago Manual of Style - Official Chicago style site containing quick guides and FAQ's.
Purdue OWL Chicago Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in Chicago style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.

Selected books:

The Chicago Manual of Style. Seventeenth ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.
Pears, Richard, and Graham J. Shields. Cite Them Right : The Essential Referencing Guide. 12th ed. London ; New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2022.

Examples on Notes and Bibliography style

	Notes	Bibliography
Book - one author	Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book* (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page number. First citation: 1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99-100. Subsequent citation: 20. Pollan, Omnivore's Dilemma, 3. *In a Note, author's name is given in the normal order.	Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Pollen, Michael. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006. In a Bibliography, author's name is inverted (last name first).
Book - four or more authors	Author #1's First Name Last Name et al., Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page number. First citation: 1. Dana Barnes et al., Plastics: Essays on American Corporate Ascendance in the 1960s (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982), 14. Subsequent citation: 20. Barnes et al., Plastics, 29-30.	Author #1's Last Name, First Name, Author #2's First Name Last Name, Author #3's First Name Last Name, Author #4's First Name Last Name,. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Barnes, Dana, Eugene Erhardt, Leonard Miller, and Jonathan Smith. Plastics: Essays on American Corporate Ascendance in the 1960s.* Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982. *In a Bibliography, only the first author's name is inverted and list all the authors's name.
Chapter/section of edited book	Chapter Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of The Chapter/Section," in Title of Book, ed. Editor's First Name Last Name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page number. First citation: 1. John D. Kelly, "Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism,, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War," in Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, ed. John D Kelly et al. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010), 77. Subsequent citation: 20. Kelly, "Seeing Red", 81-82.	Chapter Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of The Chapter/Section." in Title of Book, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Page number. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Kelly, John D. "Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War." In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67-83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.

More examples: Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations (The Chicago Manual of Style Online)

Notes

Bibliography

Author's First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Format or Access date, URL/doi.

First citation:

Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classic, 2007), Kindle edition.

Subsequent citation:

Austen, Pride and Prejudice.

First citation:

Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders' Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), accessed February 28, 2010, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Subsequent citation:

Kurland and Lerner, The Founders' Constitution, chap. 10, doc. 19.

Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. Format or Access date. URL/doi.

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classic, 2007. Kindle edition.

Kurland Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Notes

Bibliography

Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of the article," Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year of publication): Page number consulted.

First citation:

Joshua I. Weinstein, "The Market in Plato's Republic," Classical Philology 104 (2009): 440.

Subsequent citation:

Weinstein, "Plato's Republic," 452-53.

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of the article." Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year of publication): Page range of the whole article.

Weinstein, Joshua I. "The Market in Plato's Republic." Classical Philology 104 (2009): 439-58.

Notes

Bibliography

Author's First Name Last Name, "Title of the article," Title of Journal Volume number, Issue number: Page number consulted, accessed date, doi or URL.

First citation:

Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, "Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network," American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010, doi: 10.1086/599247.

Subsequent citation:

Kossinets and Watts, "Origins of Homophily," 439.

Author's Last Name, First Name, "Title of the article," Title of Journal , Issue number volume number: Page range of the whole article, accessed date, doi or URL.

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. "Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network." American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405-50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi: 10.1086/599247.

Notes

Bibliography

Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork, Year of Creation, Location.

Georgia O'Keeffe, The Cliff Chimneys, 1938, Milwaukee Art Museum.

Artist's First Name Last Name, Title of Artwork, Year of Creation, Medium, Location, accessed date of access, URL.

Erich Buchholz, Untitled, 1920, gouache on paper, Museum of Modern Art, New York, accessed December 4, 2011, http://www.moma.org/collection/
browse_results.php?object_id=38187.

Cite paintings, sculptures, photographs, drawing, and the like only in notes.

Notes

Bibliography

Title of Video, directed by Director's First Name Last Name (Producer, Year of production), Medium (Distributor, Year of distribution).

Crumb, directed by Terry Zwigoff (Superior Pictures, 1994), DVD (Sony Pictures, 2006).

Creator's First Name Last Name, "Title of Video" (video), directed by Director's First Name Last Name, posted date of posting, accessed date of access, URL.

Adele, "Someone like you" (music video), directed by Jake Nava, posted October 1, 2011, accessed February 28, 2012, http://www.mtv.com/

videos/adele/693356/someone-like-you.jhtml.

Title of Video. Directed by Director's First Name Last Name. Producer, Year of Production. Medium. Distributor, Year of Distribution.

Crumb. Directed by Terry Zwigoff. Superior Pictures, 1994. DVD. Sony Pictures, 2006.

Director's Last Name, First Name, dir. Title of Video. Producer, Year of Production. Medium. Distributor, Year of Distribution.

Zwigoff, Terry, dir. Crumb. Superior Pictures, 1994. DVD. Sony Pictures, 2006.

Creator's Last Name First Name. "Title of Video" (video). Directed by Director's First Name Last Name. Posted Date of Posting. Accessed Date of Access. URL.

Adele. "Someone like you" (music video). Directed by Jake Nava. Posted October 1, 2011. Accessed February 28, 2012. http://www.mtv.com/
videos/adele/693356/someone-like-you.html.

Notes

Bibliography

"Title of Web Page," Name of website owner or sponsor, last modified date (if available) or access date, URL.

First citation:

"Google Privacy Policy," last modified October 3, 2010, http://www.google.com/intl/
en/privacypolicy.html.

"McDonald’s Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts," McDonald’s Corporation, accessed July 19, 2008, http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/
about/factsheets.html.

Subsequent citation:

"Google Privacy Policy"

"Toy Safety Facts."

Name of website owner or sponsor. "Title of Web Page." Last modified date (if available). Accessed access date. URL.

Google. "Privacy Policy." Google Privacy Center. Last modified October 3, 2010. http://www.google.com/intl/
en/privacypolicy.html.

McDonald's Corporation. "McDonald's Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts." Accessed July 19, 2008. http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/
about/factsheets.html.

Examples on Author-Date style

	Parenthetical citation	Reference list
Book - one author	(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number) (Pollan 2006, 99–100)	Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.
Book - four or more author	(First Author's Last Name et al. Year of Publication, Page Number) (Sechzer et al. 1996, 276)	Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Sechzer, Jeri A., S. M. Pfaffilin, F.L. Denmark, A. Griffin, and S.J. Blumenthal. 1996. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press. For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the reference list.
Chapter/section of edited book	(Chapter Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number) (Kelly 2010, 77)	Chapter Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title pf Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter". In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Page Numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Kelly, John D. 2010. "Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War." In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

Book - one author

(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number)

(Pollan 2006, 99–100)

Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.

Book - four or more author

(First Author's Last Name et al. Year of Publication, Page Number)

(Sechzer et al. 1996, 276)

Author's Last Name, First Name*. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Sechzer, Jeri A., S. M. Pfaffilin, F.L. Denmark, A. Griffin, and S.J. Blumenthal. 1996. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press.

*For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the reference list.

Chapter/section of edited book

(Chapter Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number)

(Kelly 2010, 77)

Chapter Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title pf Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter". In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Page Numbers. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.

Kelly, John D. 2010. "Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War." In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

More examples: Author-Date: Sample Citations (The Chicago Manual of Style Online)

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number) (Austen 2007) (Kurland and Lerner, chap. 10, doc. 19)	Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Format or Accessed Date of Access. URL. Austen, Jane. 2007. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics. Kindle edition. Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. 1987. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number)

(Austen 2007)

(Kurland and Lerner, chap. 10, doc. 19)

Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name. Format or Accessed Date of Access. URL.

Austen, Jane. 2007. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics. Kindle edition.

Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. 1987. The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted) (Weinstein 2009, 440)	Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal Volume Number, Issue Number (Additional Date Information): Page Numbers (page range for the whole article). Weinstein, Joshua I. 2009. “The Market in Plato's Republic.” Classical Philology 104:439–58.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted)

(Weinstein 2009, 440)

Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal Volume Number, Issue Number (Additional Date Information): Page Numbers (page range for the whole article).

Weinstein, Joshua I. 2009. “The Market in Plato's Republic.” Classical Philology 104:439–58.

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted) (Kossinets and Watts 2009, 411)	Author's Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal Volume Number, Issue Number (Additional Date Information): Page Numbers (page range for the whole article). Accessed Date of Access. URL. Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. 2009. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115:405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/599247.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Author's Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number Consulted)

(Kossinets and Watts 2009, 411)

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. 2009. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115:405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/599247.

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Artist's Last Name Year of Publication) (Buchholz 1920)	Artist's Last Name, First Name. Year of Creation. Title of Artwork. Medium. Location. Accessed Date of Access. URL. Buchholz, Erich. 1920. Untitled. Gouache on paper. Museum of Modern Art, New York. Accessed December 4, 2011. http://www.moma.org/collection/browse_results.php?object_id=38187.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Artist's Last Name Year of Publication)

(Buchholz 1920)

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Year of Creation. Title of Artwork. Medium. Location. Accessed Date of Access. URL.

Buchholz, Erich. 1920. Untitled. Gouache on paper. Museum of Modern Art, New York. Accessed December 4, 2011. http://www.moma.org/collection/browse_results.php?object_id=38187.

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Director's Last Name Year of Publication) (Zwigoff 1994) (Adele 2011)	Director's Last Name, First Name, dir. Year of Production. Title of Video. Producer. Medium, Distributor, Year of Distribution. Zwigoff, Terry, dir. 1994. Crumb. Superior Pictures. DVD, Sony Pictures, 2006. Creator's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video" (video). Director's First Name Last Name. Posted Date of Posting. Accessed Date of Access. URL. Adele. "Someone like you" (music video). Directed by Jake Nava. Posted October 1, 2011. Accessed February 28, 2012. http://www.mtv.com/videos/adele/693356/someone-like-you.html.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Director's Last Name Year of Publication)

(Zwigoff 1994)

(Adele 2011)

Director's Last Name, First Name, dir. Year of Production. Title of Video. Producer. Medium, Distributor, Year of Distribution.

Zwigoff, Terry, dir. 1994. Crumb. Superior Pictures. DVD, Sony Pictures, 2006.

Creator's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video" (video). Director's First Name Last Name. Posted Date of Posting. Accessed Date of Access. URL.

Adele. "Someone like you" (music video). Directed by Jake Nava. Posted October 1, 2011. Accessed February 28, 2012. http://www.mtv.com/videos/adele/693356/someone-like-you.html.

Parenthetical citation	Reference list
(Author/Name of website's owner or sponsor Year of Publication*) (Google 2009) (McDonald's 2008)	Author/Name of website's owner or sponsor. Year of Publication, URL. Google. 2009. "Google Privacy Policy." Last modified March 11. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html. McDonald's Corporation. 2008. "McDonald's Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts." Accessed July 19. http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/about/factsheets.html. If no date of publication, use the access date or last-modified date.

Parenthetical citation

Reference list

(Author/Name of website's owner or sponsor Year of Publication*)

(Google 2009)

(McDonald's 2008)

Author/Name of website's owner or sponsor. Year of Publication*, URL.

Google. 2009. "Google Privacy Policy." Last modified March 11. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

McDonald's Corporation. 2008. "McDonald's Happy Meal Toy Safety Facts." Accessed July 19. http://www.mcdonalds.com/corp/about/factsheets.html.

* If no date of publication, use the access date or last-modified date.

Citing Secondary Sources

Sometimes, you may want to cite an idea which an author refers to another researcher's work. It's called an "secondary source". Here's the guideline on how to cite a secondary source via the Chicago Manual of Style Online website and the Purdue OWL website (see "Citing Indirect Sources" section) . You can also the information in Section 14.260 "Citations Taken from Secondary Sources" of the Chicago Manual of Style. (17th ed.).