Library Guides: Citing Sources of Information 引文及列明出處: MLA Style

Recommended Resources

Websites:

MLA Style Center - Official MLA style site containing quick guide and FAQ's
Ask the MLA
Purdue OWL MLA Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in MLA style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
MLA Style from Murdoch University.

Selected Books:

Modern Language Association of America. MLA Handbook. Ninth ed., The Modern Language Association of America, 2021.
Pears, Richard, and Graham J. Shields. Cite Them Right : the Essential Referencing Guide. 12th ed., Bloomsbury Academic, 2022.

Examples

	In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Book - one author	Author Last Name page (Franke 121)	Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher. Year of publication. Franke, Damon. Modernist Heresies: British Literary History, 1883-1924. Ohio State University Press, 2008.
Book - more than three authors	First Author Last Name, et al. page (Plag, et al. 110)	When a book has two authors, order the authors in the same way they are presented in the book. Start by listing the first name that appears on the book in last name, first name format; subsequent author names appear in normal order (first name last name format). Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher. Year of publication. Plag, Ingo, et al. Introduction to English Linguistics. Berlin: Mouton, 2007.
Chapter/section of edited book	Author Last Name page (Bordo 135)	Chapter Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the chapter/section." Title of the book . Edition and Editor First Name Last Name. Publisher. Year of publication. Page numbers of chapter/section. Bordo, Susan. "The Moral Content of Nabokov's Lolita." Aesthetic Subjects, edited by Pamela R. Matthews and David McWhirter. University of Minnesota Press, 2003. 125-52.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Book - one author

Author Last Name page

(Franke 121)

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher. Year of publication.

Franke, Damon. Modernist Heresies: British Literary History, 1883-1924. Ohio State University Press, 2008.

Book - more than three authors

First Author Last Name, et al. page

(Plag, et al. 110)

When a book has two authors, order the authors in the same way they are presented in the book. Start by listing the first name that appears on the book in last name, first name format; subsequent author names appear in normal order (first name last name format).

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher. Year of publication.

Plag, Ingo, et al. Introduction to English Linguistics. Berlin: Mouton, 2007.

Chapter/section of edited book

Author Last Name page

(Bordo 135)

Chapter Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the chapter/section." Title of the book . Edition and Editor First Name Last Name. Publisher. Year of publication. Page numbers of chapter/section.

Bordo, Susan. "The Moral Content of Nabokov's Lolita." Aesthetic Subjects, edited by Pamela R. Matthews and David McWhirter. University of Minnesota Press, 2003. 125-52.

More examples: Citations by Format (MLA Style Center)

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Author Last Name (Armstrong)	Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Version, Publisher, Year of publication. Source of ebook. URL. Armstrong, Michael. Strategic Human Resource Management : A Guide to Action. E-book, Kogan Page, 2000. EBSCOhost, https://search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.lib.hkmu.edu.hk/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=61235&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Author Last Name

(Armstrong)

Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Version, Publisher, Year of publication. Source of ebook. URL.

Armstrong, Michael. Strategic Human Resource Management : A Guide to Action. E-book, Kogan Page, 2000. EBSCOhost, https://search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.lib.hkmu.edu.hk/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=61235&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Author Last Name page (Hernandez-Reguant 12)	Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the article" Title of journal, Volume number, Issue number, Year of Publication, Page numbers of journal article. Hernandez-Reguant, Ariana. "Copyrighting Che: Art and Authorship under Cuban Late Socialism." Public Culture, vol.16, no.1, 2004, pp.1-29.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Author Last Name page

(Hernandez-Reguant 12)

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the article" Title of journal, Volume number, Issue number, Year of Publication, Page numbers of journal article.

Hernandez-Reguant, Ariana. "Copyrighting Che: Art and Authorship under Cuban Late Socialism." Public Culture, vol.16, no.1, 2004, pp.1-29.

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Author Last Name page (Tolson 11)	Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the article". Title of journal . Volume number. Issue number. Date of Publication. Page numbers. Name of collection. Web. Date of access. Tolson, Nancy. “Making Books Available: The Role of Early Libraries, Librarians, and Booksellers in the Promotion of African American Children’s Literature.” African American Review, vol.32, no.1, 1998, pp. 9–16. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org/10.2307/3042263.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Author Last Name page

(Tolson 11)

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of the article". Title of journal . Volume number. Issue number. Date of Publication. Page numbers. Name of collection. Web. Date of access.

Tolson, Nancy. “Making Books Available: The Role of Early Libraries, Librarians, and Booksellers in the Promotion of African American Children’s Literature.” African American Review, vol.32, no.1, 1998, pp. 9–16. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org/10.2307/3042263.

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Artist Last Name (Evans) Artist Last Name (Drysdale)	Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Date of Creation. Medium. Location. Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display, Savannah. 1936. The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Date of Creation. Location. Title of the Website. URL. Drysdale, Russell. The Countrywoman. 1946. National Gallery of Australia, https://searchthecollection.nga.gov.au/object/20919.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Artist Last Name

(Evans)

Artist Last Name

(Drysdale)

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Date of Creation. Medium. Location.

Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display, Savannah. 1936. The Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Artist Last Name, First Name. Title of the work. Date of Creation. Location. Title of the Website. URL.

Drysdale, Russell. The Countrywoman. 1946. National Gallery of Australia, https://searchthecollection.nga.gov.au/object/20919.

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Creator/Author Last Name (Mars)	Creator/Author Last Name, Creator/Author First Name. "Title of work." YouTube, Date of Publish, URL Bruno Mars. "Just the Way You Are (Official Music Video)." YouTube, 9 Sep.2022,www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjhCEhWiKXk.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Creator/Author Last Name

(Mars)

Creator/Author Last Name, Creator/Author First Name. "Title of work." YouTube, Date of Publish, URL

Bruno Mars. "Just the Way You Are (Official Music Video)." YouTube, 9 Sep.2022,www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjhCEhWiKXk.

In-text Citation	Cited Works List
Author Last Name / Title of Page (How Do I Cite A Museum Image That I Viewed In Person Or Online)	Author. Title of Page. Title of site, Publisher of website, Date of creation, URL. Date of access. "How Do I Cite A Museum Image That I Viewed In Person Or Online?" The MLA Style Center, Modern Language Association of America, 29 Sep. 2016, style.mla.org/citing-images-viewed-firsthand-or-online/. Accessed 25 Oct. 2022.

In-text Citation

Cited Works List

Author Last Name / Title of Page

(How Do I Cite A Museum Image That I Viewed In Person Or Online)

Author. Title of Page. Title of site, Publisher of website, Date of creation, URL. Date of access.

"How Do I Cite A Museum Image That I Viewed In Person Or Online?" The MLA Style Center, Modern Language Association of America, 29 Sep. 2016, style.mla.org/citing-images-viewed-firsthand-or-online/. Accessed 25 Oct. 2022.

Citing Indirect Sources

Sometimes, you may want to cite an idea which an author refers to another researcher's work. It's called an "indirect source". Here're the tips on how to cite an indirect source via the MLA Style Center website and the Purdue OWL website (see "Citing indirect sources" section) . You can also the information in Section 6.77 "Indirect Sources" of the MLA Handbook (Ninth ed.).