English Language Learning: News Resources

60 Minutes is an American newsmagazine television program broadcast on the CBS television network. This collection provides access to news coverage investigative reporting and feature segments of global issues from 1997.
User guide

It covers company and industry news information from over 33,000 sources in 32 languages. Users have full-text access to wide range of information sources including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Times, The Wall Street Journal, El Pais, The Financial Times, Forbes, Newsweek, Reuters, Dow Jones.
User guide

The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading business news organizations. It provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. Users can access to digital articles from 2007 onwards. Besides, access to ePaper, which is the digital replica of the daily print edition, is also available. Users can download the App version (App store / Google Play).
Remarks: Users are required to create a personal account to view the full-text content no matter you access the resource via web or App version.

International Newsstream provides the recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. It provides information from more than 660 newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

The New York Times is an American daily newspaper. Users can now access the full text articles from 1851 to present.
Note: Users should use their HKMU email to create a personal account in the platform in order to access the articles.

The New York Times in Education covers 16 subject areas, namely American Government, Arts & Visual Culture, Biology, Business, Campaigns & Elections, Criminal Justice, Environmental Sciences, International Relations, Leadership, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Population Health & Nursing, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology and Writing & English Composition. The platform provides case study, discussion questions, article recommendations/discussion, and teaching strategy.
Note: Users should use their HKMU email to create a personal account in order to access the resources.

PressReader 提供超過7000份來自逾120個國家60種不同語言的報章及雜誌，資料均以其原格式顯示。讀者可以按國家、地區、語言或標題找到合適的報章或雜誌。此資源亦提供App版本 (App store / Google Play)供讀者下載。

備註：
登記 PressReader帳戶
1.除了經電子圖書館登入圖書館帳戶連接資源外，你亦可使用大學電郵登記一個PressReader帳戶。登記並驗證電郵帳號後，你便可於網頁或App版本直接登入PressReader帳戶以查看全文內容。
2.登記PressReader帳戶時，請選擇「圖書館或小組」 > 「Hong Kong Metropolitan University」。
3.一個大學電郵帳號最多可在5個不同裝置登入。唯每次在不同裝置登入都要先登入PressReader帳戶。
4.請注意：你需要每30天重新認證你的PressReader帳戶。
詳情請參考PressReader帳戶登記指南

PressReader provides online access to over 7,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries in 60 languages and displayed in their original format. You can filter the newspapers and magazines by country, language, or title.
Users can also download the App version (App store / Google Play).

Remarks:
PressReader's account registration
1.You can access the resources by logging into your library account via E-Library. You may also register a PressReader's account using your HKMU email account. After verification, you can access to Web or APP version and view the full-text content by logging into your PressReader's account directly.
2.Please select "Library or Group" > "Hong Kong Metropolitan University" for PressReader's account registration.
3.You can log into a maximum of 5 devices using the same PressReader's account. However, you need to log into your PressReader's account in each device.
4.Note: You have to re-authenticate your account every 30 days by getting a new verification link.
For details, please go to PressReader's Account Registration Guide

The database provides real time coverage of local and international news headlines, images and videos. (Content coverage: most recent 20 years.)

It is a digital replica of the full printed daily newspapers accessible via desktop, tablet and offline through downloadable PDF, with coverage from Jan 2002 to the present.

Note: The platform is under upgrade recently. If you cannot find the pre-2018 content, please contact the Library (Tel: 2768-6777 or Email: libwww@hkmu.edu.hk) for assistance.